Tree Board

What is the Tree Board?
The Tree Board assists the City Manager and Public Works in developing comprehensive tree management and preservation programs for the city. The Board also serves as a clearinghouse for information on trees. 

The Tree Board consists of nine members, one of which may be a City Council member. Each member serves a three-year term, except for the Council member, who serves a one-year term. The director of the Public Works Department serves as an ex-officio member of the Tree Board.

The Trees of Berkley, Michigan, USA:  A Guide for Community Residents

To see our Berkley Tree Guide CLICK HERE BUTTON 

This tree guide was developed under the direction of Dr. Asia Dowtin of Michigan State University Department of Forestry and compiled by urban forestry research assistants Corinne Carpenter, Indya Hunt, and Jared Shaffer. It is intended for use by the City of Berkley’s Tree Board and community residents who will engage in ongoing initiatives related to the stewardship of Berkley’s urban forest.

Prohibited Species of Public Trees

In order to promote native plant species diversity and to prevent the loss of habitat due to the spread of naturalized non-native plant species, please click here for a list of prohibited trees

Who We Are. 

 Board Member  Term Expires
 Lisa Fritsch  July 2021
 Margaret Grassa  July 2021
 Kathleen Karlis (Chairperson)  July 2021
 Robert Lathrop  July 2021
 Tricia A. Losey  July 2023
 Robert Penkala  July 2022
 Molly Schneider  July 2021
 Sandra Sekora  July 2023
 Mike Leneway   July 2023
 Student Representative Needed  

Council Liaison: Dennis Hennen
Staff Liaison: Derrick Schueller

Click here for agendas & minutes. To view the enabling legislation surrounding the Tree Board, click here. Questions or comments for the board can be directed to DPW Director Derrick Schueller at or 248-658-3490.

eNews Signup